How to Know if You’re on the Right Path to Finding Your True Passion…

image

Think back to when you were 10 years old.  What did you like to do with your time? 

If you were like me, you were an avid writer.  You spent evenings in your room writing poetry, songs, short stories, and awful, risqué essays that were meant to be read by no one.  No walls in the room were exposed;  all covered by inspirational quotes or poems written in grade school with teacher’s praises in red pen.

At the age of 10, I didn’t want to be a writer.  I was studying and planning for a career as a psychologist.  I wrote about people and relationships.  I wrote poems about perspective and emotion.

The lights are off,
the shades aren’t drawn.
You can’t see in,
but I can see out.
(A 10 year old’s poem about the ability to control emotion)

For my career, I helped people. I dedicated my life to helping children, their families, adults with mental health issues, staff in organizations working to help people, and now helping leaders become more effective at empowering others.

I wrote social histories, treatment plans, diagnostic materials, and redesigned organizational service delivery models. I designed websites to offer leaders easy access to tools and information supporting my coaching efforts.

At a low point in my career, I realized that my work – although important still – required less writing. I felt broken. It took a year for me to realize that in order for me to be fulfilled, I need to write.

And today when I am writing, I am energized and passionate. I find myself more excited and nervous posting blogs or writing articles than when I am presenting to a room of 100 people.

And a few weeks ago, I heard a dear friend talk about the dreams she had as a 10 year old and that she believes that magic time in our lives may continue directing us to our place of passion throughout our lives- the place where we give our best to the world around us. I think she’s right.

Consider your passion and interests when you were 10 years old.  What did you love to do back then? How do you see those interests playing out in your adult life? Is there a connection?

One thought on “How to Know if You’re on the Right Path to Finding Your True Passion…

  1. Another good one! I also need writing in my life! Now I’m wondering about my girls and how their passions will play out . . .

    Like

Leave a comment